Extracurriculars

Black Hawk Elementary School

Marquardt School District 15 understands that learning and engagement is necessary both inside and outside the classroom. Below are a list of extracurricular clubs and activities that Black Hawk Elementary School offers to students.


amazing race

DSC04895.JPG

Based off of the television series, The Amazing Race, students team up to travel the world in a fun geography competition! Complete with rounds and eliminations, the students answer questions about all different types of countries.

Sponsor

Judy Smith: jsmith@d15.us
Dana Onayemi: donayemi@d15.us
Kristen Orlando: korlando@d15.us

 

BAND AND ORCHESTRA

Students in 4th and 5th grade have the opportunity to learn to play an instrument of their choice and participate in concerts with other students as members of the band or orchestra.

Sponsor

Jennifer Baker: jbaker@d15.us
Ian Nevins: inevins@d15.us
Ben Dahlke: bdahlke@d15.us

 

BATTLE OF THE BOOKS

Students team up to read and study a selection of books from the current Bluestem Award nomination list in preparation for three levels of competitions (building, district, and crosstown). Battle of the Books helps the students build teamwork and close reading skills.

Sponsor

Judy Smith: jsmith@d15.us

 

CHORUS

The Black Hawk Bulldog Chorus consists of all interested 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders. The chorus meets during mid-day P.E. time, and performs in and around the community throughout the year! 

Sponsor

Anne McKenna: amckenna@d15.us

 
CODA

CODA

Wheaton College’s Community Outreach for Developing Artists (CODA) is a music program offered to our kindergarten classrooms to help introduce students to music through movement and song. CODA works to provide music and visual arts instruction to over 1600 children in DuPage County.

Sponsor

Community Outreach for Developing Artists (CODA)

 

D.A.R.E.

Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E.) is a program to help 5th grade students make good choices. Run by the school resource officer and supported by the school social worker, D.A.R.E. addresses internet safety, bullying, and other high risk circumstances.

Sponsor

Michelle Cahill: michelle_cahill@glendaleheights.org            
Tim Karmik: tkarmik@d15.us

 

INTRAMURALS

All girls and boys in grades 4th and 5th can participate in a non-competitive environment around different sport-like activities. Intramurals are held two days a week before school (days depend on grade level) and are supervised by the physical education teacher. 

Intramurals Permission Form and Schedule

Sponsor

Scott Lena: slena@d15.us

 

MATH CLUB

The main purpose of the Math Club is to get 5th grade students interested in using their math skills in a number of math games. Chess, at the moment, is the most popular game, with checkers a close second, and then Battle Ship.  Games vary, but all of them require spatial and strategic thinking.

Sponsor

Alice Lyall: alyall@d15.us

 

STUDENT COUNCIL

The Black Hawk School Student Council is made up of 4th and 5th graders who are elected by their classmates. The Student Council members are leaders in our school and contribute in many ways, including planning school activities and fundraisers.

Sponsor

Anne McKenna: amckenna@d15.us          
Kent Dixon: kdixon@d15.us

 
DSC00161.JPG

YOUNG AUTHORS

The Young Authors contest brings out the writer in every student! Students are encouraged to write and/or illustrate books alone or with a partner. Winners are selected by grade level, school, and genre to attend a special celebration and to get published in the school Young Authors book, which is housed in the Black Hawk library.

Sponsors

Jackie Giordano: jgiordano@d15.us
Judy Smith: jsmith@d15.us